Uncategorized

Day 3 of eating no chocolate! (It’s a record for me!)

Image

So after publishing my books and the lengthy hours of formatting them onto Kindle I feel I need a break. Actually I am on an Easter two-week break from the school where I work but have been working hard on the books the past few days. I really love my job, and working with children. My class are an amazing bunch, I must say! I also love working with all the people there as they are really down to earth. 

So what’s the ‘urgh’ all about? It’s the weight I’ve put on since I’ve been neglecting my running in the past 3 weeks. Yep, I’ve been sitting on my derrière at the computer, tapping away. 

This is not a major issue, and I know plenty of other people who have more on their minds than a bit of weight to lose. In the past I have dealt with some incredible heartache, but now at this point in my life, I have a marathon coming up in July and I can’t bare to be this heavy when training for it , my little legs are feeling the strain. The strange thing is, after running for 20-40 miles a week, I’ve never lost any weight through running. My weight just stays the same and hangs about my waist. 

I can hear people shouting ‘Then don’t eat the stuff!’ Can it really be that easy?

So I’m not here to moan about my weight, but rather what I’ve done about it. For starters, I’m no longer snacking unhealthily between meals and I’ve cut out chocolate for 3 days now. That may not seem like a lot, but I confess – I am a chocoholic. I can’t have a small piece and walk away, I have to devour the whole lot. It’s terrible. Chocolate fuels my body when I sit and write my books. It’s a terrible habit and one I intend to break. 

So, when doing something for the first time, I read that it can take about 6 weeks before the body begins to accept this new attitude to eating before it becomes a habit. http://www.livestrong.com/article/5535-need-breaking-bad-habit/

Habits are a strange parts of us humans and our brain is a very complex instrument. We all seem to struggle with one thing or another. I believe breaking habits will empower us and make us feel stronger. I really want to feel in control over these actions as every year it gets harder and harder. 

However, my addiction is not quite as bad as the young lady in the video on the following link. http://www.wikihow.com/Overcome-a-Chocolate-Addiction

It’s great to have goals in life and mine is to run a marathon, it will be my 3rd one. Part of this goal is to lose weight and eat more healthily. I can’t wait. I look forward to my body becoming fitter in anticipation for my 40th birthday. I also hope the sluggishness and lack of energy I feel will go after a while, as I’ve put it down to eating chocolate.

Has anyone else had any experience of this …? I’d love to hear. Please share! 

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. 

 

Leave a Reply

