author · dreaming · enjoy · fantasy · reading · star wars · writing · Writing Books

Elves and Dragons

 

elf-and-dragon.jpg

I’ve never written a fantasy novel before, but I simply loved reading The Hobbit and The Chronicles of Narnia as a child, so I guess it was only a matter of time before I took the plunge. (This includes reading and watching Lord of the Rings too, over and over again). Entering another world where animals could talk and other beings co-existed together was pure magic.

My latest novel is about elves and humans. So far, only the skeleton of the novel is being completed, like the bare branches on a tree. At some point, I’ll go back and add the luscious leaves.

Discipline as a writer is important, so I try to write every day, but if I’m super tired after teaching all day, then I let the moment pass and give more thought to the story before writing it another evening. I don’t often like to plan too far in advance as I love it when my characters change and do something completely unexpected. It is this that excites me as a writer – the not knowing. I know the ending, but not the journey of my characters until I start writing.

Being interested in science fiction, my first trilogy was based on Men In Black, ET, Spiderman and Star Wars. Films inspired me to write science fiction in such a way it reads like a movie. The idea of the existence of aliens fascinates me.

 

2 thoughts on “Elves and Dragons

  1. I hope you enjoy the journey with your new project. Fantasy can be a lot of fun to write as you can ignore all sorts of common place constraints; of course the other side of that is: If you create a world then you have to create its own laws Sounds like we have the same approach…fun isn’t it?? …Anyway good luck. Well done as well for wanting to write after a day at a very demanding and valuable job; a paragraph here, a paragraph there gets you to the end.
    Best wishes
    Roger

    1. Hi Roger, Thank you so much for your message and connecting! Sometimes the ideas take longer to develop than the actual writing, especially when creating a whole new world! But you are right … it is fun! And extremely fulfilling!
      🙂
      Helen

Leave a Reply

