artist · author · editing · editor · enjoy · fantasy · hobbies · paranormal · reading · writing · Writing Books

Designing a Book Cover

12308667_432530230270293_9201069800930960853_n.jpg

Having spent a fortune having professionals design book covers for my first trilogy, (15 years ago before the time of free stock images) I’ve decided to paint the cover for the book I am currently writing as it’s pretty hard to find an elf and a dragon without having to pay a small fortune.

I’m adapting and copying a picture I have created on the internet and I’m enjoying it so far. However, if it doesn’t work out then I am going to have to go for plan B – to use free stock images and keep it simple.

11255046_432530243603625_1001248608814357491_n.jpg

It someone asks me what the most important part of an ebook is, I’d say the content for sure. The cover needs to looks professional but after reading a book on Kindle I never look at the cover again. However, if the content has not been edited and does not flow then I’ll to put it down and not read it.

So with a limited budget I’ve opted to invest money and time for good editing. It would mean having to sell many ebooks before I make any profit but it’s really not about the money. The most important aspect is the creative  journey in writing a book for others to read and enjoy. It’s also something I need to do to feel fulfilled. Money is simply a bonus and will help to invest in the next project!

This is a cover I have designed for my recent book that has yet to be edited and published.

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 22.24.05.png

This cover for THE AMPHIBLETS coming out of January 6th 2016 has proven to be slightly trickier as I couldn’t decided on a cover I liked best.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 21.41.14.png

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Designing a Book Cover

  1. Nice covers! I took an opt-out approach and used Lulu stock covers which had nothing to do with the books, but I hoped folk would get the irony- they didn’t. On reflection there wasn’t any….Oh well.
    Anway: “The most important aspect is the creative journey in writing a book for others to read and enjoy. It’s also something I need to do to feel fulfilled. “….. Wonderful words ;what more is to be said?
    The most important aspect is the creative journey in writing a book for others to read and enjoy. It’s also something I need to do to feel fulfilled.

    1. It’s a bit like taking a pill every day for mental stability. Lol. Writing is a great healer if you like writing that is. I finished my book cover today. Its not too bad. As Shrek would say, “It’ll do donkey, it’ll do.”

Leave a Reply

